AT REGINA, SASKATCHEWAN, WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 1, 2018

AT A MEETING OF EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE HELD IN PUBLIC SESSION

AT 11:45 AM

These are considered a draft rendering of the official minutes. Official minutes can be obtained through the Office of the City Clerk once approved.

Present:	Councillor Andrew Stevens, in the Chair Mayor Michael Fougere Councillor Lori Bresciani Councillor Sharron Bryce Councillor John Findura Councillor Jerry Flegel
	Councillor Bob Hawkins
	Councillor Jason Mancinelli
	Councillor Mike O'Donnell
	Councillor Barbara Young
Regrets:	Councillor Joel Murray
Also in	City Clerk, Jim Nicol
Attendance:	A/Deputy City Clerk, Amber Ackerman
	City Manager, Chris Holden
	A/City Solicitor, Cheryl Willoughby
	Executive Director, City Planning & Development, Diana Hawryluk
	Executive Director, City Services, Kim Onrait
	Executive Director, Financial & Corporate Services, Barry Lacey
	Executive Director, Transportation & Utilities, Karen Gasmo
	Director, Assessment & Taxation, Deborah Bryden
	Director, Communications & Customer Experience, Alan Clay

(The meeting commenced in the absence of Councillor Mancinelli.)

APPROVAL OF PUBLIC AGENDA

Councillor Bob Hawkins moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that the agenda for this meeting be approved, as submitted, and that the delegations be heard in the order they are called by the Chair.

ADOPTION OF MINUTES

Councillor Barbara Young moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that the minutes for the meeting held on July 4, 2018 be adopted, as circulated.

(Councillor Mancinelli arrived at the meeting.)

ADMINISTRATION REPORTS

EX18-15 Community Non-Profit Tax Incentive Policy

<u>Recommendation</u> RECOMMENDATION OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE - JULY 4, 2018

- 1. That the *Community Non-Profit Tax Incentive Policy* as described in this report and attached as Appendix A, be approved.
- 2. That a cap in the policy be set at \$1.2 million.
- 3. That this report be forwarded to the August 27, 2018 meeting of City Council for approval.

Communications were submitted by:

- Colleen Schmidt
- Mackenzie Art Gallery

Copies are on file in the Office of the City Clerk.

The following addressed the Committee:

- Bob Perry, Deborah Rush and Jackie Martin, representing Mackenzie Art Gallery
- Jim Elliot
- Sandy Baumgartner, representing Saskatchewan Science Centre
- Ron Hitchcock, representing Royal Canadian Legion 001
- John Hopkins, representing Regina & District Chamber of Commerce and Brian Shankowsky, representing Regina Trades and Skills Centre
- Colleen Schmidt, representing Cathedral Area Cooperative Daycare
- Allison Tholl, representing South Saskatchewan Directors for Early Learning
- Georgia Siourounis, representing Saskatchewan Early Childhood Association
- Cara Steiner, representing Prairie Lily Early Learning Centre
- Mackenzie Sawchyn, representing Cathedral Area Cooperative Daycare
- Tasha Balkwill, representing Whitmore Park Childcare Co-operative
- Fred Clipsham, representing Circle Project Daycare

Councillor Andrew Stevens stepped down and temporarily left the meeting.

Councillor Bob Hawkins assumed the Chair.

Councillor Andrew Stevens returned to the Chair prior to the vote.

Councillor John Findura moved that this report be received and filed.

Councillor Bob Hawkins moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that this be referred back to the Administration to design a public consultation that considers the parameters set out, which are at the origin of this Community Non-Profit Tax Incentive policy proposal by Q4 of 2018.

The motion was put and declared CARRIED.

RECESS

Councillor Jerry Flegel moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that the Committee recess for five minutes.

(The Committee recessed at 2:37 p.m.) (The Committee reconvened at 2:45 p.m.)

EX18-17 2019 Preliminary Budget Review and Economic Update

Recommendation

That this report be received and filed.

The following addressed the Committee:

- Ryan Johnson and Dale Schoffer, representing Buffalo Pound Water Treatment Plant
- Fred Clipsham
- Jim Elliot

Chris Holden, City Manager and Barry Lacey, Executive Director, Financial & Corporate Services made a power-point presentation, addressed and answered questions of the Committee. A copy of the presentation is on file in the Office of the City Clerk.

Mayor Michael Fougere moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that this report be received and filed.

EX18-16 Safety in School Zones

Recommendation

- 1. That Administration undertake an audit of existing school zones to review signage locations, parking and drop off locations and overall safety, prior to the implementation of any further recommendations.
- 2. That the City Solicitor be instructed to prepare the necessary amendments to Bylaw No. 9900, *The Regina Traffic Bylaw, 1997*, as recommended in this report, effective August 30, 2019.
- 3. That this report be forwarded to the August 27, 2018 meeting of City Council for approval.

WEDNESDAY, AUGUST 1, 2018

Communications were submitted by:

- CAA Saskatchewan
- Terry Leigh

Copies are on file in the Office of the City Clerk.

Christine Niemczyk, representing CAA Saskatchewan, addressed the Committee.

Councillor Mike O'Donnell moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that this report be tabled to the September 12, 2018 meeting of Executive Committee.

-4-

RESOLUTION OF PRIVATE SESSION

Councillor Sharron Bryce moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that in the interest of the public, the remaining items on the agenda be considered in private.

RECESS

Councillor Sharron Bryce moved, AND IT WAS RESOLVED, that the Committee recess for ten minutes.

(The Committee recessed at 4:20 p.m.)

Chairperson

Secretary